The Hadleigh Society  Caring about Hadleigh - yesterday, today and tomorrow


Home ] Up ] Nomination Form ] AGM 2016 minutes ] AGM 2015 ] AGM 2014 ] AGM 2013 Minutes ] AGM 2012 ] AGM 2011 ] AGM 2010 ] AGM 2009 ] AGM 2008 ] AGM 2007 ] AGM 2006 ] [ AGM 2005 ] AGM 2004 ] AGM 2003 ]

Minutes Of the 23rd Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 29th June 2005 in Hadleigh Old Town Hall at 8.00 p.m.

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE were received from nine members of the Society.

MINUTES OF A.G.M. 23rd JUNE 2004 were accepted as a true record of the meeting.  There were no matters arising not covered elsewhere in the Agenda.

TREASURER'S REPORT  Chris Drake presented this year’s financial statement, and explained that a double payment for our Civic Trust registration fee had been made, as a result of problems with the Trust’s payment system for 2003/2004.  The purchase of 100 tea-towels for resale within the town has produced a profit of 60, so another 100 have just been bought.  However, this year’s accounts showed an overall deficit of 183, so members were asked to comment on the Committee’s proposal to increase subscription fees.  Support was unanimous and the general feeling was that an increase of 2 per head was acceptable.  Thanks were given to Paul Garrod at Walter Wright for checking the statement of accounts.   

HISTORY GROUP REPORT  Jan Byrne reported that the Group has continued to research Hadleigh life in the 1830s and is currently searching through local newspapers of the time for any relevant articles or advertisements.  Two presentations of ‘Highway Robbery in Hadleigh’ (in St Mary’s Church, Hadleigh and East Bergholt Church) had been very well received, and the Group has been booked for the Lavenham Society in December 2005.  

PLANNING REPORT  The Society identified a medieval wall at risk when an application was submitted for a proposed new housing site on the corner of Aldham Road/ Lady Lane.  Babergh District Council’s Conservation & Design Officer immediately  placed a ‘Building Preservation Order’ on the wall, which is now listed.  The Society also worked closely with the developer of the site and contributed input into the design of the proposed development.  

REPRESENTATION ON OTHER BODIES   John Bloomfield reported as Chair of the East of England Association of Civic Trust Societies (EEACTS).  The Association has become a member of several important regional bodies, and tries to promote realistic and practical policies.  John will be stepping down as Chair in October 2005, but hopefully will remain on the committee.

Jan Byrne represents the Society on the Town Forum and the Entertainments Committee, which has organised many summer events.  Its ‘Street Fairs’ are an excellent way for organisations to raise money as well as offering good entertainment for the town.

The Traffic Management and Environment Working Party has been disbanded by Suffolk County Council.  This group had been very successful in achieving a number of projects for the town, and it is hoped that it might be re-instated in the future.

CHAIR'S REVIEW   Jan Byrne opened her report by stating that the Society is slowly growing and the membership is just over 200.  Our meetings attract an average of 65 people and we have continued to find excellent speakers, including our ‘in house’ team.

We were delighted to see Sue Andrew’s book (Hadleigh & the Alabaster Family) hit the market and that it is selling well.  We look forward to Roger Kennell’s new book to be published later in the year.

The May Show was well supported and we were pleased to offer part of the display to Fred Breyer and Peter Lee who are collecting information about the Hadleigh servicemen who died in the Second World War.  In July 2005 the Society is taking part in the Hadleigh Community Tent at the Tendring Hundred Show.  In September 2004 we participated in the Civic Trust’s Heritage Open Days Weekend giving tours of the town, and will be doing so again this year.

Much time has been taken up by ‘Tesco’.  This last year has been our first experience of tackling a District Plan Inquiry.  This involved masses of written information and submissions produced by Joe Byrne, and oral evidence given by John Bloomfield and Jan Byrne for a period of about two hours.  We await the outcome of the Inspector’s recommendations.  We understand that Tesco is expecting to have its amended planning application heard at Babergh District Council in the autumn, so we must remain vigilant.  All members are urged to write again to oppose the application which will be treated as new by the planning officers and the councillors.

The Executive Committee has started work on identifying properties that are not listed but are significant in their own or their group right.  Babergh District Council’s Conservation & Design Officer, Clare Vint, has sent the procedure for producing a ‘local list’.

Jan is standing down as Chair of the Society as she has completed her five-year term, as have Sue Angland (as Secretary) and Jim Betteridge, who is to continue as Newsletter Distributor.  She was pleased to announce that nominations had been received for two new members of the committee.  Jan thanked all the committee for their hard work throughout the year and for their personal support to her.  She concluded by asking all members to prepare to gather support in opposing any Tesco application in the year ahead, in order to keep our town a ‘Home Town’ and not a ‘Clone Town’.    

NOEL TURNER AWARD 2004   There were two awards made this year.  Firstly, Clare Vint, Conservation and Design Officer at Babergh District Council, received the award for progressing a practical pavement scheme on the northwest side of the High Street, which emphasised the group value of listed buildings within the Hadleigh Conservation Area. Secondly, the Ipswich and Norwich Co-Operative Society was nominated for the sensitive design of its supermarket extension and pedestrian link, whilst retaining the character of the High Street frontage.  Mrs Jean Lockie, President of the Ipswich & Norwich Co-op Society and Mr Paul Seggar of their Works Department, received the award.  

ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS   As no formal ballot was necessary the Executive Committee for the coming year would be:


John Bloomfield


Sue Angland

Vice Chair

Graham Panton


Daphne Jarvis


Jan Byrne


Margaret Woods


Chris Drake



History Group

Glenda Druce



Membership Secretary   Rosemary Schade (non-voting)

Newsletter Distributor    Jim Betteridge  (non-voting)

John Bloomfield, on behalf of all members, thanked Jan Byrne for all her hard work, particularly over the last difficult year, as Society Chair, which was roundly applauded.

The meeting closed with the serving of wine, cheese and other refreshments.

The Hadleigh Society