The Hadleigh Society  Caring about Hadleigh - yesterday, today and tomorrow

Newsletter
Index

Home ] [ Forthcoming Meetings ] Past Events ] Contact Us ] Organisation ] Planning/Environment ] News ] Hadleigh Time Line ]


These meetings are free to members of the Society. For others there is a charge of 3. They start promptly at 8 pm in Hadleigh Old Town Hall (unless otherwise notified) and are followed by an opportunity to chat. If you'd like to print your own set of programme cards it's here.

Date

Subject

Speaker

Summary Poster
Tue 13 Jun AGM followed by 'Ever Changing Hadleigh' Jan Byrne and Sue Angland    
Wed 16 Aug The Liberty of St Etheldreda Bob Merrett    
Tue 17 Oct Eastern Angles, Style & Origins Ivan Cutting    
Wed 6 Dec ‘Cakes, Ale & Partying: Feasting & Fundraising in Medieval Suffolk’.
Mulled wine & mince pies
Kate Jewell This talk traces some of the festivals which were important to medieval Suffolk communities, looking at how they celebrated them. It also discusses how one particular community used festivity to raise a huge amount of money in a time of need.  
Tue 6 Feb 2018
 
Hadleigh in the Sixties History Group    
Wed 21 Mar From Wool to Cloth Nicholas Amor    
Tuesday 1 May        
Wednesday 13 June AGM      
Tuesday 7 Aug Paston Letters Mark Mitchells    
Wednesday 3 Oct History of Suffolk Farmsteads Philip Aitken    
Tuesday 4 Dec History of Hadleigh Trade and Industry Roger Kennel    

Sheet of 10 programme cards


The Hadleigh Society